Elizabeth Roose Shirts

After high school graduation, in the fall of 2002, I went to Rexburg to begin collegiate studies at BYU-Idaho. It was my first real taste of being on my own. I can’t imagine a nicer place to have your first experience away from home than Rexburg, Idaho. Like many of you, I completed two semesters coursework then it was home to Utah for the summer. I repeated this schedule the next school year. I earned an associate of science degree in general studies. In the fall of 2004, I was anxious to serve as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I served in the Pennsylvania Harrisburg Mission. I can’t say enough good things about my experience as a missionary. In the summer of 2006, I enjoyed a family vacation touring many historical sites in the eastern and midwestern United States.

Yes, reality came knocking at my door again; and, after a fun-filled summer I began working and studying once more. I enjoyed teaching at a private school and working as a substitute seminary teacher. I’m glad reality leaves a little room for fun which I found in the Young Single Adult and Institute of Religion programs. Fun is not all I found through those programs, I met a wonderful man named Cory Shirts. (I can’t wait for you to meet him!) We were married in the summer of 2008. I completed the coursework at the University of Utah for a bachelor of science degree in Human Development and Family Studies. I have been employed working with people recovering from addictions and assisting people with disabilities.

The best event in 2010 for Cory and me was the birth of our adorable daughter, Megan. You will have to come to reunion to see pictures of her if you haven’t met her yet. Motherhood is the name of the game for me right now and will be for many years to come. Becoming a parent, especially a mother, makes me wish I knew more about everything. In my spare time, I enjoy being involved in the community with activities that are helping me become fully certified as a family life educator. I am looking forward to seeing you at our 10-year class reunion!

2 thoughts on “Elizabeth Roose Shirts

  1. Elizabeth,

    I’m having a boy and we are so excited! I have to laugh, because I saw in an e-mail that you wanted to help with the reunion, I also saw the word shirts, so I thought you were in charge of making shirts for the reunion! Now I can see that your last name is Shirts! Can you believe it has been ten years? Anyway, I always thought you were a bright spot at Cottonwood, and it is so fun to reconnect!

  2. Rachel,
    Two little boys, that is going to be a blast! Yes, the last name Shirts can make people think all sorts of interesting things. Your experience makes me laugh too. If this is how fast 10 years goes, it has gone way too fast for me. Thank you for the compliment. I hope I wasn’t a dark spot in anyone’s days at Cottonwood. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

