Melissa Keating

Hello, Class of 2002!

Can this be true? Has it really been a decade since high school? Are we really old enough to be having a 10 year reunion?!

It’s crazy to think about how much has happened since my CHS days. The fall after graduating from Cottonwood, I packed up my bags and headed north to attend school at Gonzaga University in Spokane, WA. While there I studied psychology, made some wonderful friends, and fell in love with the Pacific Northwest. The summer during my senior year of college I decided to work at a summer day camp for elementary school students. It was supposed to be a job that didn’t feel like work (Arts and crafts! Swimming! Field trips to dinosaur museums!), but it ended up being the job that changed all of my post-college goals.

Exactly a year after graduating from Gonzaga with my psychology degree, I went back to school to pursue a Master of Arts in Teaching from Westminster College. Best decision ever. I finished the program in May 2008 and began teaching 2nd grade at an elementary school in Murray that fall. While teaching has proven to be very challenging, I really enjoy what I get to do every day (or at least most days…). I am now in my 4th year of teaching and am currently working on a Master’s in Reading and Literacy. Even though I love being a teacher, I would like to have the knowledge and experience to move out of the classroom one day, while still having an impact on the educational field.

Well, that’s the very abbreviated summary of my life since Cottonwood. I’m not sure what the next 10 years will bring, but I look forward to finding out!

2 thoughts on “Melissa Keating

Leave a Reply

