Amy Wilson

It’s hard to sum up ten years into just a few words when you have experienced so many great things and have been to so many amazing places. I have been to 8 different countries, mostly dancing and singing my way around the world, but some has been for personal travel pleasures too. I lived in Athens, Georgia for several years working at Cracker Barrel Old Country Store and as personal babysitter to my older sister in exchange for rent. I’ve driven across country 4 times with my dad listening to John Denver and to the Bible on tape. Very exciting!!! We drove through a blizzard, a lightning storm, a tornado warning zone, sunny sky’s, and a tropical storm from Salt Lake City, Utah to Orlando, Florida in just over 2 days. Probably the most exhilarating 48 hours of my life which involved a lot of praying that we wouldn’t die. With all the traveling I’ve done I did manage to find some time in there to get a Bachelor’s degree from Weber State University in Musical Theater.

I did do a little performing at Lagoon for a couple of seasons. Since I mastered a southern accent from living in the south for several years (and yes I did come home with a thick southern accent that many of my family and friends made fun of me for but now no longer exists) I was perfectly casted in a country show that I performed everyday for 5 months. But for many performers out there, performing isn’t always the most ideal career and doesn’t always pay the mortgage depending on where, when and how often you have a job. I started working in the restaurant business when I was 18 years old. I started as a host, then serving, to shift lead at Cracker Barrel. Six years later I went to Lone Star Steakhouse, was trained to become an assistant manager only for them to close right before my promotion; 2 1/2 years of hard work down the drain. Now here I am ten years later from when I first started as just a little hostess, I’m a General manager at a Cafe Zupas in Draper, Utah. As life has flashed before my eyes thinking I would be married with kids, be a stay at home mom by now, but instead I’m a hard working woman with a major career, a lovely home provided by myself and loving life as it comes at me. It’s pretty amazing!

4 thoughts on “Amy Wilson

  1. I’ve always wanted to go to Cracker Barrel Amy, how’s the food? My wife loves Zupas BTW. We live next to one and every time she wants me to go out for a Zupa run I get sushi from the place next to it – works out great. 🙂

  2. I didn’t think you could get more gorgeous Amy! I feel ya on the working woman thing! It’s only been in the last year that made the shift to getting engaged. All those years of working hard at my independence, down the drain. 😉 haha. Ok, just kidding. Funny though, how nice life can be when you let go of the expectations you had for yourself and just live, love and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

