Jillene Stark- 2022

Where do you currently live?

North Salt Lake

Tell us about your life now, including your family, your hobbies, your occupation and any accomplishments during the last 20 years.

I would have to say my life has been on a journey. I left high school and went to SUU thinking I was going to be a big star. Reality check hit me and realized my passion for education. I was offered a Theatre, Choir (because I had musical theatre), music theory, cheer teaching job in Page, Arizona and was miserable. SOOOO came back to Salt Lake and taught Theatre/dance at Elk Ridge Middle school. While I was there I decided I needed to teach a subject that wasn’t my passion. I got my Masters from the UofU in Special Education then tried to jump again, this time to Austin, Texas. This state wants only Texas grown teachers so I didn’t get a job there besides 6 mini jobs working with animals and personally training humans. An opportunity landed on my lap to build a special education program in Herriman, Utah so I packed my bags and started building the program for Providence Hall Charter School working with kids with disabilities. Aside from my professional life, I do improv comedy with both Laughing Stock and Quick Wits. I was divorced in 2020 and have recently moved in with a Man and his 8 year old son. I still have my two dogs which are my babies, yes I would save the big one over any human. I am still a hyper goof ball who refuses to take life too seriously. I feel you aren’t living unless you are challenged and pushing yourself to be better!

What is your favorite memory from high school?

How everyone in theatre was my family!

What do you think your “high school self” would be most surprised to learn about you now?

That what you learned in high school you actually use in life.

Are you planning to attend our 20 year reunion on July 9th?

Yes

Leave a comment